Ebert, film critics, and canaries

Roger Ebert sees a trend away from intelligent news to infantile news. The canary in the mine is the thoughtful film critic.

Concerning most social trends, I generally think they aren’t better or worse, just different. I get superb economic coverage from McArdle, EconLog, and Marginal Revolution. I have trouble believing it would have been better back in the day reading my daily paper.

I wonder what Andrew thinks. He follows the MSM more than most people I know. I don’t rely on the paper for authority. I tailor my news based on the personalities that I grow to trust. Perhaps the papers are striving for survival incorrectly, by moving away from intelligent commentary, instead of toward it. But also the people who want to follow the mundane were probably underserved in the previous market.

Leave a Reply

