There’s low standards, and then there’s low standards

What does every pessimist say to every optimist? “I’m not a pessimist, I’m a realist.” I suppose Arnold Kling would say the same:

I tend to set the bar pretty low. I always said about my daughters that if they reached 18 without getting pregnant, addicted to drugs, or badly injured in an accident, I would feel pretty optimistic about their future. So far, so good.

Similarly, as far as government is concerned, I think that the fact that our leaders are not taking us into another first World War is something we ought to be happy about. World War I gets my vote for Worst Historical Event Ever, and it happened less than one hundred years ago. Today, we’re not sending most of our able-bodied men to go fight in trenches. Count your blessings.

Leave a Reply

